Random Firings from My Brain

March 26, 2008

Two Weeks Notice

Filed under: Uncategorized — Daniel @ 7:45 pm

Like it or not, its the convention here in the US. Recently at the Business of Software forum, some pissant little kid was shocked, shocked I say, that when he walked in one day, announced he was quitting, and his old boss didn’t fall all over himself to give him a recommendation. He said he would be available on an as needed basis. Like he was doing everyone a favor. Based on context, I’d have to say that the individual in question was probably in his early 20’s, just leaving his first job after probably six months, and had a very, very strong sense of entitlement. One might call him a Precious Little Snowflake. He is probably trying to job hop his way to a six figure salary by 25. He’s also probably the sort of asshole that can do it. I hope no one accidentally runs him over someday.

You don’t have to give notice. There is no law. Its courteous, not to the company you work for but to the people who are going to have to cover for you when you are gone until a replacement can be found. The company, especially if it is a big one, would cut your throat if they thought it would raise their stock price a nickel. Maybe you’re not even needed for those two weeks. I’ve given notice and then spent two weeks surfing the web, cleaning out my desk, saying goodbye, and going to my farewell lunch. My “transition” took all of a half hour to hand off my projects. That wasn’t the point though, I played by the rules and I left on good terms. If you feel like you owe nothing to anyone when you want to leave a job, they probably feel the same way about you.

Being a reasonable and enlightened man, I think of it from someone else’s perspetive. If my boss came to me at 1pm and told me that I was fired but could I finish out the day anyway. I would deem the rest of the day not worth the effort, tell my boss where he stick those four hours, and go home to drink myself into a stupor. But if he told me that in two weeks I was going to be laid off, I would be grateful that I at least would get another two weeks pay and use the time to find a new job. They know that they can’t afford to keep me on anymore but they will carry me for two weeks for whatever reason they have(maybe they want to work me like a mule, whatever, I’ve got to put food on the table).

My point is not two weeks notice. I give fuck all about two weeks(or whatever it is in your country, I understand its three months in some countries). My major problem is people who expect something for nothing because mommy and daddy never told them they were not special. My problem is the overwhelming sense of entitlement that seems to have gripped this country. Am I part of the last batch of young adults who actually is going to work for the things I want even if it means doing things I don’t want to do? Or am I an anomaly among my age group even?

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

